The KiezCare
Association

We are the Berlin’s citizens’ initiative KiezCare e.V. Berlin: An association of neighbours, innkeepers, hotels, shops, artists, web designers. We live/work in this area and are committed to it.

Trouble in the “Kiez”?

It is a fact of life that there are also criminals, especially in big cities. Unfortunately, however, our lively and cosmopolitan Berlin, traditionally a shelter area from homophobia, intolerance and violence, seems to magically attract bands of thieves right now. Attacks against sexual minorities are also on the increase.

Residents, tradesmen and tourists, men, women, LGBTI*, queers, young and old have long been equally affected. Now it is usually no longer marauding young individual perpetrators who make life difficult for us, but well-organized gangs of thiefs are now also active in the area.

What to do?

Due to increasing attacks in the trendy neighbourhoods, politicians and authorities are dependent on the direct help of local residents and businesses. Discussions about safety in the area around Motzstraße made this obvious.

However, the possibility of direct, simple notifications of assaults was still missing. Up to now it was only possible for a victim to decide between calling the police or contacting victim victim counselling such as the “gay robbery hotline” at Maneo. Sometimes the whole effort understandably does not want. But ignoring the incident altogether doesn’t help anyone.

We now offer another information channel:

Website/App: www.safeplace.berlin

safeplace.berlin is a direct, cross-group, trustworthy information channel on the Internet. The online report form is uncomplicated, easy to call up with a smartphone and can be used anonymously.

On the basis of these collected reports, the police can pick up specific hotspots and implement more checks and patrols there. Technical measures at hotspots (e.g. more light in certain entrances/shop windows) are also conceivable.

The aim is to improve the danger situation and make it more difficult for criminals to act freely.

Every report helps the neighbourhood. Join in!

our platform to report incidents: safeplace.berlin

And so it works - an online report in just 60 seconds:

Any more questions?

Questions and answers about safeplace.berlin


KiezCare e.V. is a small non-profit organization that relies on your donations.

We remember Matthew Shepard, who was murdered in October 2018 exactly 20 years ago in Colorado USA at the age of 21. This incident marks the beginning of “Hate Crime” legislation as a consequence.

Der Verein
KiezCare e.V.

Der Schöneberger Kiez ist bekannt als „Regenbogenkiez“, insbesondere wegen seiner weltweit bekannten schwullesbischen* Szene mit einem Nachtleben, das seinesgleichen sucht.

Wir sind die Schöneberger Bürgerinitiative KiezCare e.V.: Ein Zusammenschluss von Nachbarn, Wirten, Hotels, Läden, Künstlern, Webdesignern. Wir leben/arbeiten in diesem Viertel und setzen uns für die Lebensqualität in unserem Viertel ein.

Trouble im Kiez?

Es lässt sich gerade in Metropolen nicht vermeiden, dass es auch Kriminelle gibt. Leider scheint jedoch unser quirliges und weltoffenes Viertel, traditionell ein Schutzraum vor Homophobie, Intoleranz und Gewalt, momentan Diebesbanden magisch anzuziehen.

Längst sind Anwohner, Gewerbetreibende und Touristen, Männer, Frauen, LGBTI*, Queers, Junge und Alte, gleichermaßen von bedrohlichen Situationen und Räubereien und sogar Gewalttaten betroffen. Seit Neustem sind es meist keine marodierenden jugendlichen Einzeltäter, die uns das Leben schwer machen, sondern vielmehr inzwischen auch gut organisierte Diebesbanden.

Was tun?

Anlässlich zunehmender Übergriffe im Szenekiez um den Nollendorfplatz sind Politik und Behörden auf die unmittelbare Hilfe der Anwohner und Gewerbetreibenden angewiesen. Dies ergeben Gesprächsrunden über die Sicherheit im Bereich um die Motzstraße.

Die Möglichkeit der direkten, einfachen Benachrichtigung über Übergriffe fehlte jedoch bisher. Die Opfer konnten nur entscheiden, ob sie die Polizei rufen oder sich an Opferhilfe-Organisationen (z.B. das „Schwule Überfalltelefon“ von Maneo) wenden. Mancher wollte den damit verbundenen Aufwand verständlicherweise nicht. Aber den Vorfall zu ignorieren, hilft niemandem!

Uns im Kiez ist jetzt klar, dass ein weiterer Info-Kanal benötigt wird und wir bieten jetzt folgende Lösung an:

Website/App: www.safeplace.berlin

Wir bieten nun einen unmittelbaren, gruppenübergreifenden, vertrauenswürdigen Informationskanal im Internet. Das Online-Berichtsformular ist unkompliziert, einfach mit dem Smartphone aufzurufen und anonym nutzbar. Jede Meldung hilft dem Kiez. Mach mit!

zu unserer neuen Website: safeplace.berlin

Und so funtioniert es - Ein Online-Bericht in nur 60 Sekunden:

Noch Fragen?

Fragen und Antworten zu safeplace.berlin


KiezCare e.V. ist ein kleiner gemeinnütziger Verein, der auf Spenden von Menschen wie Dir angewiesen ist.

Wir erinnern an Matthew Shepard, der im Oktober 2018 vor genau 20 Jahren in Colrado USA im Alter von 21 Jahren ermordet wurde. Dieser schreckliche Vorfall markiert als Konsequenz den Beginn der (Gay) „Hate Crime“ Gesetzgebung.